二生三 I & II

张洪与秋麦合作作品
2014
出版者: Early Spring Press

ISBN: 978-0-615-87549-1

Pages: 120页

书籍系列《二生三》记录了艺术家张洪与秋麦于2009年至2017年的合作作品与相关文章和采访。自2009年以来,张洪与秋麦一直在尝试将传统水墨与摄影相融合,以保持中国传统山水的本质,同时将这两种媒体带入21世纪。在两个世界交汇的边缘,胶片颗粒和墨点汇合在一起,艺术家们能够超越特定的文化,定义,边界和地理范围。

 

张洪和秋麦的合作作品曾于多所博物馆展出,包括纽约大都会博物馆、旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆、克利夫兰艺术博物馆、密歇根州卡拉马祖艺术学院 、达拉斯克洛亚洲艺术博物馆和香港大学艺术博物馆。

 

该系列里收录了六篇学者文章与采访,给予读者们不同的角度深入了解张洪与秋麦的合作创作。学者分析定位了两人的合作于传统艺术的关联性,也更加突显合作所产生的当代艺术的全球化与创新。穿插于其中的采访赋予了另一个更私人的角度理解张洪与秋麦的艺术理念以及看法,完整了整个系列对于两人合作的梳理。

 

两本书籍总共120页,以横向形式订制,收集了张洪与秋麦个人作品以及合作作品。横向形制最大化的展示了秋麦作品中中国传统书画卷轴式横向的观赏方式,而其他作品们也能够拥有更多空间展示高清细节。《二生三II》中英双语翻译文章也能够以一页双栏的形式,让读者能够同步中英阅读,使得整体阅读体验提升。

 

二生三 I

 

书籍《二生三I》记录了张洪与秋麦于2009年至2014年的合作作品和前克利夫兰艺术博物馆(The Cleveland Museum of Art)的中国艺术策展人钟妙昏、迈阿密大学(Miami University)东亚艺术史助理教授 Michael J. Hatch、弗里尔艺术画廊和史密森尼国家亚洲艺术博物馆亚瑟·萨克勒画廊(Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art)中国书画副策展人Stephen D. Allee的三篇文章,以及纽约大都会艺术博物馆(The Metropolitan Museum of Art)亚洲艺术部助理主任史耀华(Joseph Scheier-Dolberg)与两位艺术家的采访。

 

钟妙昏

Rhythms of Abstraction:

Landscape Duets of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

在钟妙昏撰写的文章《Rhythms of Abstraction: Landscape Duets of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney》中,作者对两位艺术家的创作风格分别进行了介绍。摄影师秋麦以中国艺术史为灵感出发,游历中国山川美景进行摄影创作,呈现了在工业发展进程下不同于古时和睦的人与自然关系的现代景观。艺术家、学者张洪受古代名家笔墨影响,用传统水墨刻画抽象的山水意境。进而提出二位的合作打破了媒介的局限,创造出一种全新的和谐景观。在艺术表现形式上的推动与创新,打破了人们对传统水墨陈旧的既定印象,既保留传统又散发著相当浓厚的当代气息。

 

史耀华

Joseph Scheier-Dolberg

Interview with Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

自2007年起,史耀华一直关注着张洪与秋麦的个人作品与本书关注的合作项目的发展,他们曾以多种方式进行对话,讨论作品的发展。这一合作的核心问题——水墨画传统的持久相关性; 镜头、照相印刷品和画笔的交错; 这意味着把艺术家将自己载入一个历史连续体中;艺术家如何融入自己、创造成功的合作作品,2013年11月,他们三人在张洪位于新泽西的工作室进行了采访。

 

Michael J. Hatch

Texture and Chinese Landscape: Photograph-Paintings by Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

Michael J. Hatch 在文章《Texture and Chinese Landscape: Photograph-Paintings by Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney》中讨论了张洪与秋麦的合作体现了两位艺术家分别使用传统毛笔和摄影技术呈现自然界机理的共性,始于这种共鸣,合作作品不仅揉合了影像现实与绘画意象,同时也呈现了两位艺术家对中国绘画传统的理解和沟通。

 

Stephen D. Allee

One from Two: Collaborative Works by Michael Cherney and Arnold Chang

在Stephan D.Allee的文章《One from Two: Collaborative Works by Michael Cherney and Arnold Chang》中,作者以张洪与秋麦两个相反的创作模式引入两人不同的文化背景与媒介;秋麦由外入内,从跋山涉水拍摄风景到暗房印片;张洪由内到外,从收到的摄影局部到发挥想象整体创作画面。

 

二生三II

 

书籍《二生三II》基于香港大学艺术博物馆2018年3月2日至5月6的“二生三:张洪与秋麦的合作”展览,记录了张洪与秋麦于2014年至2017年的合作作品、加州大学圣地亚哥分校(University of California San Diego)亚洲艺术史博士生庞惠英的一篇文章、以及华南师范大学美术系教授皮道坚与两位艺术家的采访。

 

庞惠英

Tiffany Wai-Ying Beres

三的力量

 

在庞惠英的文章《三的力量》中,作者阐述了对于秋麦与张洪的展览名称「二生三」的理解与定义。「二生三」出自于《道德经》中的「三生万物」一词。在宇宙学里,三是而二元之结合,即事物赖以生存能力之间的转化和互相依存。在张洪与秋麦的合作中,作者看到了「三」是艺术家二人组所产生更宏观的视野与思想的碰撞。创作过程以秋麦摄影为出发点,在底片中获取水墨元素的摄影局部、印在宣纸上并且邮寄给张洪进行下一步的水墨绘画创作。两人跳脱惯常的创作思维,并且从中获得共鸣。这样的合作是高于摄影与水墨绘画的第三种艺术,拓展了当代水墨艺术的可能性。

 

皮道坚

与张洪和秋麦的对话

皮道坚以采访的形式与张洪与秋麦共同探索了创作中的「混搭」、「随机」以及「互文」几个关键字。两人的合作过程使两人展开了一场关于现代与传统、东方与西方以及水墨与摄影的对话。

/ 8

From 2 Arises 3 I & II

The Collaborative Works of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney
2014
Publisher: Early Spring Press

ISBN: 978-0-615-87549-1

Pages: 120 pages

The book series From 2 Arises 3 encompasses collaborative works of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney, related academic articles, and artists’ interviews. Since 2009, Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney have been experimenting with blending traditional ink painting and photography in order to lead the two mediums into the 21st century while retaining the essence of traditional Chinese landscape paintings. When the two media forms meet, grains on developed film and ink dots harmoniously come together, and the artists are therefore able to transcend boundaries of cultures, definitions, national borders, and geography.

 

Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney’s collaborative works have been exhibited in many museums, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco, the Cleveland Museum of Art in Ohio, the Kalamazoo Institute of Art in Michigan, the Crow Museum of Asian Art of the University of Texas at Dallas, and the University Museum and Art Gallery in Hong Kong.

 

The entire From 2 Arises 3 series includes six scholarly articles and interviews, presenting readers with a range of perspectives concerning the works of Chang and Cherney. Scholars analyze the relationship between their collaborations and traditional Chinese art and highlight how the two artists’ innovation and compatibility reflect a trend of globalization in contemporary art. The interview, in particular, provides a more personal approach to understanding Chang and Cherney’s artistic concepts and thoughts, and completes the entire series.

 

The series includes two books, with a total of 120 pages. The horizontal orientation of the books' format displays Cherney’s works in a way that approximates the viewing of traditional Chinese handscroll paintings. This orientation also allows enough space to include selected details of other works. In From 2 Arises 3 II, the Chinese text is printed adjacent to the original articles, which allows readers of both languages to become immersed in each article’s content.  

 

FROM 2 ARISES 3 |

 

From 2 Arises 3 I documents Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney’s collaborative works dating from 2009 to 2014, and includes three scholarly articles by former curator for Chinese art at The Cleveland Museum of Art, Anita Chung, Assistant Professor of East Asian Art History at Miami University  Michael J. Hatch, and Associate Curator for Chinese painting and calligraphy at Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian's National Museum of Asian Art Art, Stephen D. Allee, and finally, an interview with the two artists conducted by Joseph Scheier-Dolberg, currently an Associate Curator of Chinese painting at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

 

Anita Chung

Rhythms of Abstraction: Landscape Duets of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

Anita Chung’s article Rhythms of Abstraction: Landscape Duets of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney introduces the creative styles of the two artists. Inspired by the history of Chinese art, photographer Michael Cherney travels to monumental mountains and rivers of China. His photographs present modern landscapes undergoing the process of industrial development, which is different from the harmonious relationship between human and nature illustrated in ancient paintings. Artist and scholar Arnold Chang is influenced by the brushwork methods of Chinese old masters. He uses traditional ink painting techniques to depict abstract, conceptualized landscapes. The author then proposes that the collaboration between the two breaks through the limitations of media and creates a new harmonious landscape. The advancement and innovation expressed by these works have encouraged many viewers to reassess their impressions of ink painting. These works not only retain elements of Chinese traditions but also exude a strong contemporary flavor.

 

Joseph Scheier-Dolberg

Interview with Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

Joseph Scheier-Dolberg has been following the development of Chang and Cherney’s personal works and the collaborative projects since 2007. Joseph has had multiple discussions and interviews with the artists about the progress of their work. The essential question in terms of their collaborations is the relevance of the ink painting tradition to the interlacing of camera lenses, photographic prints, and brush and ink. Through the process of collaboration both artists have placed themselves within a historical continuum. Scheier-Dolberg conducted an interview with two artists at Chang’s studio in New Jersey in November, 2013, in which he explores the question of how they integrate their two artistic mediums in the creation of their works.

 

Michael J. Hatch

Texture and Chinese Landscape: Photograph-Paintings by Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

In Texture and Chinese Landscape: Photograph-Paintings by Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney, Michael J. Hatch notes that, the ability to effectively convey the machinations of nature, depends upon the common aesthetic vision of the two artists, one using traditional brushes and the other photographic technique. Beginning with this resonance, their collaborative works not only combine digital reality and painting imagery, but also present the two artists' mutual understanding and communication of Chinese ink painting traditions.

 

Stephen D. Allee

One from Two: Collaborative Works by Michael Cherney and Arnold Chang

 

Stephan D. Allee's One from Two: Collaborative Works by Michael Cherney and Arnold Chang introduces Cherney’s and Chang’s two opposite creative artistic approaches as a reflection of their different cultural backgrounds and their use of different media. Michael Cherney works from outside to inside. He travels through monumental mountains and rivers in China for his photoshoots and develops film in the darkroom. On the other hand, Arnold Chang works from the inside to the outside. Through his imagination, he extends the edges of the photographic excerpts and creates an innovative landscape based on the photo.

 

 From 2 Arises 3 II

 

From 2 Arises 3 II is based on the exhibition From Two Arises Three: The Collaboration of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney  at the University of Hong Kong Art Museum from March 2 to May 6, 2018, which documents two artists’ works dating  from 2014 to 2017. The book also includes an article by Tiffany Wai-Ying Beres, a PhD candidate in Asian Art History at the University of California San Diego and an interview with two artists conducted by Pi Daojian, Professor of Fine Arts at South China Normal University.

 

Tiffany Wai-Ying Beres

The Power of Three

 

Tiffany Wai-Ying Beres’ The Power of Three expounds upon the understanding and definition of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney’s exhibition title From Two Arises Three. From Two Arises Three comes from the phrase “three produces all things” in the Dao De Jing. From a cosmological viewpoint, three is the union of dualistic forces in the world—the transformation and mutual interdependence of the energies that underlie everything. The “three” that results from Chang and Cherney’s collaborative works is both a powerful shared vision and a unique meeting of minds. The creative process starts with Michael Cherney’s photography. Cherney prints out a section of his developed film on xuan paper and then mails it to Arnold Chang for him to take the next step, to create an  imaginative ink painting. The two artists often think outside the box for their innovative creations, which display a mutual resonance. Beyond photography and traditional ink painting, their cooperative work is a “third” type of art, expanding the possibilities for the further development of contemporary ink art. 

 

Pi Daojian

Interview with Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney

 

In the interview, Pi Daojian explores a few keywords of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney’s collective creative efforts, which includes “mixture,” “randomness,” and  “echo.” Their collaborative process has led to a dialogue between modernity and tradition, East and West, and ink painting and photography.

of 7