• FQM荣幸地宣布,我们将在2022纽约亚洲节期间为大家推出展览“墨缘:张洪与秋麦的合作”。张洪与秋麦长达13年的合作挑战了美学和文化的边界,将艺术家推向了当代水墨艺术运动的前沿。此次展览聚焦两位艺术家于疫情期间创作的21幅最新合作作品,是他们将中国山水画与摄影两种媒介相结合的创作在纽约的首次个展,展示了张洪与秋麦通过连接东西方美学,从而打破文化二元对立的力量。展览将于2022年3月18日开幕,持续至5月7日。FQM位于纽约市曼哈顿东80街65号,观展时间:上午10点至下午6点。亚洲节期间3月20日周日与3月21日周一也将对公众开放。

    FQM荣幸地宣布,我们将在2022纽约亚洲节期间为大家推出展览“墨缘:张洪与秋麦的合作”。张洪与秋麦长达13年的合作挑战了美学和文化的边界,将艺术家推向了当代水墨艺术运动的前沿。此次展览聚焦两位艺术家于疫情期间创作的21幅最新合作作品,是他们将中国山水画与摄影两种媒介相结合的创作在纽约的首次个展,展示了张洪与秋麦通过连接东西方美学,从而打破文化二元对立的力量。展览将于2022年3月18日开幕,持续至5月7日。FQM位于纽约市曼哈顿东80街65号,观展时间:上午10点至下午6点。亚洲节期间3月20日周日与3月21日周一也将对公众开放。

  • “我们带着各自不同的视角,一起朝着一个共同的目标合作,很美好。这个合作既是跨媒介的也是跨文化的。摄影和水墨画最接近的地方就是灰色。没有事物是黑白分明的,而是一系列精微玄妙的灰色——正如人生。”——张洪

    “我们带着各自不同的视角,一起朝着一个共同的目标合作,很美好。这个合作既是跨媒介的也是跨文化的。摄影和水墨画最接近的地方就是灰色。没有事物是黑白分明的,而是一系列精微玄妙的灰色——正如人生。”——张洪

  • 在中国度过了他大部分的成年人生的欧洲血统的犹太裔摄影艺术家秋麦(Michael Cherney,生于1969年),和常年居住于新泽西的苏格兰血统的华裔水墨画家张洪(Arnold Chang,生于1954年),虽然两人都源自多种不同的文化传统,后皆因被中国文化史所吸引,而投身于中国悠久绘画传统的研究和创作。自2009年以来,二人开创了精湛的跨媒介合作,他们将胶片颗粒与墨点的相似之处作为契机,将经典水墨技法与摄影印本相融合,巧妙地模糊了两种媒介之间的差异。这一系列全新的作品,既不是照片,也不是绘画,而是两种媒介之间的对话和两位艺术家之间的沟通,二者以不同方式再次怀抱和重申了经典中国山水艺术的美学价值,同时也挑战了公众对“当代水墨画”的定义。

  •  

    《大明山草稿 #2》细节图
  • 创作的过程从秋麦开始,他跋涉于中国广袤的大地,寻索名载艺术史中的古迹。如同他引用的那些历史上的艺术家一样,秋麦使用的也是“传统”的设备和材料,但他的工具不是水墨和毛笔,而是一台徕卡相机和35毫米黑白胶片。使用这种早期的摄影技术迫使他要等到胶片冲洗出来才能看到捕捉的影像。在处理底片时,他会用放大镜仔细检视每一张底片,寻找值得进一步探索的细节,然后扫描这些截片。有些照片上的细节事出偶然,在拍摄的时候并未留意,而是等到将照片在屏幕上放大之后才发现。他将这种随机称为“二次记忆”,也许最适合描述为一种发现基本视觉形式的编辑方法,这些微小而重要的现象很容易被忽视。在确定了想要的细节之后,他把照片裁剪下来,然后用颜料墨把这些“截片”打印在宣纸上。如此以来,这些影像才能像传统水墨画一样装裱。然后这些摄影影像会跨越半个地球,寄送到张洪的新泽西工作室。

    张洪与秋麦, 大明山草稿#2, 2021, 摄影、宣纸墨本, 29 1/2 x 24 in (74.9 x 61 cm)

    创作的过程从秋麦开始,他跋涉于中国广袤的大地,寻索名载艺术史中的古迹。如同他引用的那些历史上的艺术家一样,秋麦使用的也是“传统”的设备和材料,但他的工具不是水墨和毛笔,而是一台徕卡相机和35毫米黑白胶片。使用这种早期的摄影技术迫使他要等到胶片冲洗出来才能看到捕捉的影像。在处理底片时,他会用放大镜仔细检视每一张底片,寻找值得进一步探索的细节,然后扫描这些截片。有些照片上的细节事出偶然,在拍摄的时候并未留意,而是等到将照片在屏幕上放大之后才发现。他将这种随机称为“二次记忆”,也许最适合描述为一种发现基本视觉形式的编辑方法,这些微小而重要的现象很容易被忽视。在确定了想要的细节之后,他把照片裁剪下来,然后用颜料墨把这些“截片”打印在宣纸上。如此以来,这些影像才能像传统水墨画一样装裱。然后这些摄影影像会跨越半个地球,寄送到张洪的新泽西工作室。

  • 相比之下,张洪的工作方向恰恰相反。在收到秋麦精心编辑的截片后,张洪用他仔细挑选的,有时则是全新的笔触,创造性地扩展每一个细节,直到达到和谐的构图。这一过程的关键是张洪多年的中国古典山水画训练,以及他辨别“笔触纹理”的必要鉴赏力。中国古典画家发展了“皴法”体系来描绘自然界的细节,特别是岩石和树木的特征。特定的笔墨技法与特定的纹理正式地联系在一起,最终成为一种风格图式,接受过训练的观众可能会识别来,比如“董源-披麻皴”或“李唐-斧劈皴”。但张洪并未完全模仿这些颗粒状的纹理图案,而是采用了互补的笔触,有时还会发展出独特的技法来回应每一个片段,例如,盐图系列。创作的结果是,两位生活在地球两端,使用两种截然不同的媒介工作的移民艺术家之间进行的一场睿智诙谐的视觉对话,分享着他们对中国文化史的热情以及在共同框架下回溯中国艺术史的尝试。
    张洪与秋麦, 华山 #2, 2018, 摄影、宣纸墨本, 24 x 39 in (61 x 99.1 cm)

    相比之下,张洪的工作方向恰恰相反。在收到秋麦精心编辑的截片后,张洪用他仔细挑选的,有时则是全新的笔触,创造性地扩展每一个细节,直到达到和谐的构图。这一过程的关键是张洪多年的中国古典山水画训练,以及他辨别“笔触纹理”的必要鉴赏力。中国古典画家发展了“皴法”体系来描绘自然界的细节,特别是岩石和树木的特征。特定的笔墨技法与特定的纹理正式地联系在一起,最终成为一种风格图式,接受过训练的观众可能会识别来,比如“董源-披麻皴”或“李唐-斧劈皴”。但张洪并未完全模仿这些颗粒状的纹理图案,而是采用了互补的笔触,有时还会发展出独特的技法来回应每一个片段,例如,盐图系列。创作的结果是,两位生活在地球两端,使用两种截然不同的媒介工作的移民艺术家之间进行的一场睿智诙谐的视觉对话,分享着他们对中国文化史的热情以及在共同框架下回溯中国艺术史的尝试。 

  • 张洪与秋麦, 仿萧云从, 2019, 摄影、宣纸墨本, 24 x 55 in (139.7 x 61 cm)
  • 张洪与秋麦的每一个合作作品都是独一无二的,题材有时来自于对中国古代大师笔墨的致敬,有时则更具实验性,旨在探索东西方绘画技法和透视的差异,以及各种形式的艺术创造与复制。

     

    作为两个在美国出生的艺术家,张洪和秋麦平行生活并工作于两个不同的移民群体,对中美艺术界来说,他们既是“局外人”,又是“局内人”。这或许反映了他们个人在调解身份认同和种族意识的奋争,他们的合作则是一项寻找平衡的研究——在西方与东方之间、现代与传统之间、在自然与抽象之间,在原作与复制之间。通过这些看似矛盾的立场,张洪和秋麦邀请观众超越历史对“中国”和“美国”艺术的构成和创作主体的限制,并发现一个更为灵活和全球化的视野——在这里,存在和归属的概念在根本上是绵延流动的。

     

    张洪和秋麦的合作作品曾于多所博物馆展出,包括纽约大都会博物馆、旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆、克利夫兰艺术博物馆、​​密歇根州卡拉马祖艺术学院 、达拉斯克洛亚洲艺术博物馆 和香港大学艺术博物馆。

  • 细节图,仿王己千 #2,2021
  • 《仿王己千 #2》

    张洪与秋麦, 仿王己千 #2, 2021, 摄影、宣纸墨本,  24 x 56 in (61 x 142.2 cm)

    《仿王己千 #2》

    大约十年前,秋麦在拍摄长江上游时,远眺四川与青海交界的年宝玉则山脉。这启发了他于 2019 年返回并且近距离研究山脉。这幅作品中的摄影局部是这些山脉中岩石和雪景的细节。深色阴影和白色高光的高对比度让张洪想起了他的老师王己千的作品。他运用王己千将印迹纹理与传统笔墨相结合的创新技法完成了一幅作品,以此向他的尊师王己千致敬。

  • 《山深#1》

    张洪与秋麦, 山深 #1, 2019, 摄影、宣纸墨本, 18 x 48 in (45.7 x 121.9 cm)

    《山深#1》

    这幅作品中的摄影部分描绘了中国西部地区崎岖的风景。秋麦并没将照片裁剪成一个矩形,而是选择了一个多边形构图,以便在张洪对影像进行延伸创作之前就唤起一种纵深感。张洪运用传统的笔法创造了一个想象的世界,并与照片不同寻常的形状相协调。

  • 《山深 #1》 细节图

    Detail of Mountain Depths #1
  • 《仿郭熙的幽谷圖》这幅作品中的摄影局部描绘了离喀什不远的昆仑山的一个山面的抽象细节。 在秋麦数十年的旅行摄影中,昆仑山是他唯一遇到这种形态迥异的形状和纹理的地方。照片中呈现的纵横交错的裂缝图案让人与上海博物馆中宋代画家郭熙的一幅作品《幽谷图》产生联想。张洪的绘画创作中既是参考了那幅作品的构图,并参考了郭熙的笔法而完成。

     

    《盐花》“盐印法”是最早的一种在标准绘图纸上印制摄影图像的工艺之一。摄影师会用盐溶液润湿纸张使其对光线敏感。为了对这一过程致敬,秋麦拍摄了在显微镜下溶解状态下的盐晶体。他放大了图像的细节,从而突出晶体的性质和结构。打印过程中增强了图像的分形特性,使得作品呈现出自然形式的外观。这幅作品展现的便是花朵绽放的外观形式。为了与盐的主题保持一致,张洪也创造了一种以喜马拉雅黑盐与墨水结合作为绘画媒介的技术。他虽然不是一个花鸟画家,但他还是忍不住试图用画笔来勾勒完善这幅盐晶体形成的天然花卉图案。

  • 《盐图晶格》 细节图
  • 《盐图晶格》

    张洪与秋麦, 盐图晶格, 2018, 摄影、宣纸墨本, 24 x 57 in  (61 cm x 145cm)

    《盐图晶格》

    盐图晶格》是展览中最具创新性和实验性的。两位艺术家的大多数合作作品是由秋麦在宣纸上印制的实际风景的摄影局部开始,继而张洪在其中融入了他独特的笔触而完成。《盐格晶图》却是来源于一个与众不同、意想不到的物件--盐晶体。

     

    作为对“盐印法"的致敬,秋麦在显微镜下拍摄了盐晶体溶解的照片。他进一步放大了微距图像的细节,这同时唤起了盐和其他晶体的共性。当印刷时,图像的分型结构性质得到加强,并呈现出岩石、花朵或其他自然形式的外观。通过将它们排列成格子的形状进行印制,秋麦创造了一个随机但有序配置的 "画布",张洪可以尝试将其编织成一个连贯的构图。 

     

    为了突破这个实验性的挑战,张洪通过研发一种将盐也作为绘画媒介的技术来扩展“盐”在这组作品中的隐喻。在创作时,他先将摄影图像之间的纸张空白区域浸湿,并在湿纸上撒上喜马拉雅山脉的黑盐(偶尔是粉红色)。接着,张洪用毛笔将晶体拖过表面,当水分蒸发后再纸上会留下颜色的痕迹。盐也作为一种抗性物质,在与湿墨混合时创造出不寻常的图案。当纸完全干燥后,张洪会掸去表面的晶体颗粒,并再补充额外的笔画而丰富图像。最终的画面呈现出别具一格的构图,它是抽象的、完全当代的,但又激荡着中国古典山水图像的清晰回声。

  • 《倒影#2I/#2II》细节图
  • 《倒影#2i/#2ii》

    这组作品的摄影局部是相同的,是亚利桑那州普雷斯科特市的花岗岩山庄和沃森湖的景色。在《倒影2ii》中,秋麦通过将照片的颜色反转到它们光谱的对立面来 "反转"色调。 在 《倒影2i 》中看到的自然界真正的红绿相间色调在 《倒影2ii 》中变成了另一个世界的蓝色和紫色。 在创作这组作品之前,张洪在他的个人作品已经有对类似的蓝色和紫色调进行实践。 这启发了秋麦对摄影作品的色相进行实验性的调整。当他尝试对他照片的色调调整,他惊喜地发现张洪运用的色彩出现在光谱的另一端。虽然这两张照片用相反的颜色描绘了同一个场景,但张洪对这种倒转的配色方案的反应是,创造出两个虽然关联但却独立的构图。 

  • 《黄山窥》

    《黄山窥》系列的所有摄影局部都取材于同一枚35毫米的胶片拍摄的中国安徽省的黄山景象中。 在每件作品中,底片中的一个单独的、微小的细节都被放大到抽象的程度,从而唤起自然界的基本结构,并借鉴它们所启发的经典山水画笔法。在个别作品的创作中,张洪调转了原始图像的方向来创建垂直的山水构图。

  • Installation photos of Ink Affinities: The Collaborative Works of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney.
  • “我可以将我们的合作比喻为一个沙漏的形状:物质世界的广大被收入镜片,继而缩减为粗颗粒的细小片段;聚焦这窄小的颈部、共享的茎干——即我们的艺术相遇并相通的时刻。我们在艺术实践之间、物质世界与想象世界之间中寻找共鸣。这些世界彼此映射、张力平衡”——秋麦

    “我可以将我们的合作比喻为一个沙漏的形状:物质世界的广大被收入镜片,继而缩减为粗颗粒的细小片段;聚焦这窄小的颈部、共享的茎干——即我们的艺术相遇并相通的时刻。我们在艺术实践之间、物质世界与想象世界之间中寻找共鸣。这些世界彼此映射、张力平衡”——秋麦

  • More about Artists

• Coinciding with Asia Week New York 2022, FQM is pleased to present “Ink Affinities 墨缘: The Collaborative Works of Arnold...

    Coinciding with Asia Week New York 2022, FQM is pleased to present “Ink Affinities 墨缘: The Collaborative Works of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney." Chang and Cherney's thirteen-year collaboration has challenged aesthetic and cultural boundaries and propelled the artists to the forefront of the Contemporary Ink Art movement. Ink Affinities, the first solo exhibition in New York to showcase the combined mediums of Chinese landscape painting and photography, reveals Chang and Cherney’s power to collapse cultural binaries by bridging Eastern and Western aesthetics. The exhibition focuses on twenty-one of the artists’ most recent works produced during the COVID-19 pandemic. The show opens on March 18th and continues through May 7th, 2022. Fu Qiumeng Fine Art is located on the ground floor, at 65 East 80th Street in Manhattan, New York City. Regular opening hours are from Tuesday through Saturday between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. In celebration of Asia Week, we will also open on Sunday, March 20th, and Monday, March 21st. 

  • “It is nice to do something with somebody towards a common goal, and the fact that we’re coming at it...

    “It is nice to do something with somebody towards a common goal, and the fact that we’re coming at it from a different angle makes it workable. The collaborative work is cross-cultural and cross-medium. I am just thinking about the fact that the thing we have most in common with photography and with ink painting is grayness. Nothing is black and white. It’s all just a range of subtle nuances of gray, just like life.” — Arnold Chang

  • Michael Cherney is a Jewish-American photographer who has spent most of his adult life in China. Arnold Chang is a Chinese-American ink painter of Chinese and Scottish ancestry who lives in New Jersey. While both artists come from starkly different cultural traditions, each is deeply concerned with the history of Chinese visual culture and drawn to create works rooted in the centuries-old tradition of Chinese painting. 

     

    Chang and Cherney began collaborating in 2009. Their work blurs the distinctions between photography and painting by harnessing the similarities between film grains and ink dots. This new series, neither solely photographs nor paintings but a dialogue between two artists, working in different media, embraces and reaffirms the classical aesthetics of Chinese landscape art while challenging the public's definition of shuimo 水墨 (“ink painting”).

  •  

    Detail of Da Ming Mountain Study 大明山草稿 #2, 2021
  • The creative process begins with Cherney, who treks across China’s vast landscape to access sites immortalized by China’s classical landscape...

    Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, Da Ming Mountain Study 大明山草稿 #2, 2021, photography and ink on xuan paper mounted on paper, 29 1/2 x 24 in (74.9 x 61 cm)

    The creative process begins with Cherney, who treks across China’s vast landscape to access sites immortalized by China’s classical landscape painters. Like the historical artists he references, Cherney works with ‘traditional’ equipment and materials. But rather than ink and brush, his tools are a Leica camera and monochrome 35 mm film. Using this earlier form of photographic technology forces him to wait until the film is developed before seeing the results. After processing the negatives, he scrutinizes each with a loupe, searching for details that warrant further exploration, and scans those excerpts. The process often reveals surprising details that passed unnoticed when he pressed the shutter. The technique, which Cherney terms "secondary memory," is perhaps best described as an editorial method of discovering elemental visual forms; those small yet significant phenomena so easily overlooked. After identifying the desired details, he crops the photographs and prints these “excerpts” onto xuan paper using pigment ink. This allows the images to be handled and mounted in the same way as traditional ink paintings. Cherney then ships the mounted images, halfway around the world, to Arnold Chang’s New Jersey studio.

  • By contrast, Arnold Chang works in the opposite direction. After receiving Cherney’s carefully edited excerpts, Chang creatively expands each detail...
    Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, Mount Hua 華山 #2, 2018, photography and ink on xuan paper mounted on paper, 24 x 39 in (61 x 99.1 cm)

    By contrast, Arnold Chang works in the opposite direction. After receiving Cherney’s carefully edited excerpts, Chang creatively expands each detail with carefully chosen and sometimes novel brushwork until he achieves a harmonious composition. Key to this process is Chang’s years of landscape painting training and his corollary skill at identifying Cunfa, or “texture strokes.” Classical Chinese painters developed the Cunfa system to depict details of the natural world, particularly the distinctive features of rocks and trees. Specific brushwork techniques were formally associated with particular textures, eventually becoming a stylistic schema that the well-informed viewer might recognize, such as a “Mi-Fu” or a “Li Tang axe-cut stroke.” But rather than imitating these granular textural patterns, Chang employs complementary brushwork and sometimes develops unique techniques such as salt-painting, to respond to each excerpt. The result is a rather witty visual conversation between two diaspora artists, living on opposite sides of the planet and working in different media, who share a deep interest in traditional Chinese history and culture and a common framework of art historical references.

  • Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, After Xiao Yuncong 仿萧云从, 2019, photography and ink on xuan paper mounted on paper, 24 x 55 in (139.7 x 61 cm)
  • Each collaborative work that Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney create is unique. Some appear as an homage to the brushwork of the old masters of Chinese art history. Others are more experimental, exploring variations in Eastern and Western painting techniques and perspectives and a range of forms of artistic production and reproduction. 

     

    As two American-born artists living and working in parallel diaspora communities, Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney are simultaneously "outsiders" and "insiders" to both the American and Chinese art worlds. Perhaps a reflection of their personal struggles to reconcile identity and ethnicity, their collaborative work is a study in achieving balance; between the East and the West, the modern and the traditional, the natural and the abstract, and the original and the reproduced. By engaging these seemingly contradictory positions, Chang and Cherney invite their viewers to do the same. They invite us to transcend the historical limitations placed on what constitutes and who produces “Chinese” and “American” art and to discover a more nuanced and global perspective, where notions of being and belonging are fundamentally fluid. 

     

    Chang and Cherney’s collaborations have been exhibited internationally, including at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, the Cleveland Museum of Art, the Kalamazoo Institute of Art, the Crow Museum, the Hong Kong Museum of Art, and the UC Santa Barbara Art, Design, and Architecture Museum. 

  • Detail of Landscape After Wang Jiqian #2, 2021
  • Landscape After Wang Jiqian #2:

    Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, Landscape After Wang Jiqian #2, 2021, photography and ink on xuan paper mount on paper, 24 x 56 in (61 x 142.2 cm)

    Landscape After Wang Jiqian #2:

    Around ten years ago, when Michael Cherney was photographing the upper reaches of the Yangtze River, he encountered a distant view of the Nianbaoyuze Mountains along the border of Sichuan and Qinghai provinces. The view inspired him to return in 2019 to study the mountains in detail. The work’s photographic excerpt is a detail of rock and snow. The high contrast of dark shadows and white highlights reminded Chang of the work of his teacher C. C. Wang. He used Wang’s innovative technique of combining imprinted textures with traditional brushwork to complete the composition as an homage to his mentor.

  • Mountain Depths #1:

    Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, Mountain Depths 山深 #1, 2019, photography and ink on xuan paper mount on paper, 18 x 48 in (45.7 x 121.9 cm)

    Mountain Depths #1:

    The photographic excerpt depicts a craggy landscape in far western China. Rather than cropping the photograph to result in a rectangular section, Michael Cherney selected a polygonal shape to evoke a sense of depth prior to Arnold Chang’s expansion upon it. Chang uses traditional brushwork to create an imaginary world that expands and harmonizes with the unusual shape of the photograph. 

  • Detail of Mountain Depths #1
  • AFTER GUO XI’S DEEP VALLEY: The photographic excerpt depicts abstract details of a mountain face in the Kunlun Mountains, not far from Kashgar. In his decades of travel photography, the Kunlun Mountains were the only location where Michael Cherney encountered this particular formation and texture of stone. The pattern of interlocking fissures depicted in the photo is reminiscent of a work in the Shanghai Museum by the Song dynasty painter Guo Xi. Chang referenced the painting by emulating Guo’s brush method and compositional structure.

     

    SALT BLOOM: The “salt print” was one of the earliest processes for producing positive photographic images on standard drawing paper. The photographer wet the paper sheet with a salt solution to make it light-sensitive. In homage to this process, Michael Cherney photographed salt crystals dissolving under a microscope. He enlarged the image details to highlight the crystals’ unique structure. When printed, the crystal's fractal qualities are enhanced, often taking on the appearance of rocks, flowers, or other natural forms. Although not skilled as a flower painter, Arnold Chang couldn’t resist harmonizing his brushwork with the salt crystals’ natural floral patterns. And rising to Michael’s challenge, Chang developed a novel technique that combines Himalayan black salt with the more conventional ink medium to further enhance the crystals’ resemblance to flower blossoms.

  • Detail of Salt Lattice, 2018
  • Salt Lattice

    Arnold Chang & Michael Cherney, Salt Lattice 盐图晶格, 2018, photography and ink on xuan paper mounted on paper,  24 inches x 57 inches (61 cm x 145cm)

    Salt Lattice

     “Salt Lattice” is the most innovative and experimental work in the exhibition. Most of the collaborations begin with Cherney’s photographic excerpts of physical scenery, printed on xuan paper, to which Chang adds his distinctive brushwork. “Salt Lattice” has its genesis in a more unexpected source—the salt crystal.

     

    In homage to the "salt print"  process, Michael Cherney photographed salt crystals dissolving under a microscope then enlarged selected image details. By arranging the details into the shape of a lattice for printing, Cherney created a “canvas” of random yet orderly configurations that Arnold Chang could attempt to weave into a coherent composition.  

     

    Rising to the challenge, Chang extended the salt metaphor by developing a technique that employed salt as a painting medium. He dampened the blank areas of paper between the photographic images and sprinkled crystals of Himalayan black (and occasionally pink) salt onto the wet paper. Chang used a brush to drag the crystals across the surface, leaving traces of color as the water evaporated. The salt acted as a resistant substance that created unusual patterns when mixed with the wet ink. After the paper dried, Chang dusted off the crystals and enhanced the image with additional brushwork. The resulting composition is abstract and fully contemporary yet resonant with echoes of classical Chinese landscape imagery.

  • Details of Inversion #2i / #2ii
  • Inversion #2i / #2ii:

    This pair of works share the same photographic excerpt, a view of Granite Dells and Watson Lake in Prescott, Arizona. For Inversion 2ii, Michael Cherney “inverted” the hue by flipping the photograph's colors to their spectrum opposites. The true reds and greens of nature seen in Inversion 2i become otherworldly tints of blue and purple in Inversion 2ii. Before creating these pieces, Arnold Chang experimented with a similar blue and purple color palette in his solo works. These experiments inspired Cherney to adjust the hue of his photographs, and he was delighted to discover Chang’s color palette naturally appearing at the opposite end of the spectrum. Although the photos depict the same scene in opposite colors, Chang reacted to the inverted color schemes by imagining two separate, though related, compositions.

  • Huang Shan Passages series:

    All of the photographic excerpts in the Huang Shan Passages series were drawn from a single 35 mm film frame of Huang Shan (Yellow Mountain) in China’s Anhui province. For each work, Cherney enlarged a unique photographic detail to the point of abstraction. His goal was to evoke nature's fundamental structures and reference the classical brushwork they inspired. In some cases, Chang rotated the original images to create vertical compositions.

  • Installation photos of Ink Affinities: The Collaborative Works of Arnold Chang and Michael Cherney.
  • “I can liken our collaborations to the shape of an hourglass: the vast expanse of the physical world being drawn...

    “I can liken our collaborations to the shape of an hourglass: the vast expanse of the physical world being drawn into the lens and then further reduced to a small, grainy excerpt; focusing attention on the neck, that narrowest point, the shared stem– the moment where our arts meet and communicate. We search for resonance between artistic practices as well as between the physical and imagined world. These worlds mirror each other; any tension between them is balanced.” — Michael Cherney

  • More about Artists